Would you be a student these days?

edited November 2010 in Local discussion
Having seen the shenanigans in town today, it made me think about what i'd say to future Brodiej's if they asked about whether or not it was a good plan to go to university. In my day, it was free, bar the additional living costs (which in Leeds) were around £80 a week...so completely affordable whether you were loaded or not (most just borrowed it including me and took a summer job). However, I wouldn't say the academic side of things put me in a better shape when moving into the job world. Undergraduates appeared to be a "chore" for most professors who in my opinion only cared about publishing papers rather than supporting students. Had i been paying tuition fees i would have been furious. I secured my first job before leaving, and ever since then in my career the grade i achieved and subject i studied have been completely irrelevant. I can't argue against the life experience of going to uni, but given that the potential minimum debt you'd come away with these days being around £40k, i just couldn't say its a good thing to do anymore. Plus.....how do you get a mortgage with a £40k debt round your neck? Also, i don't get the argument that its everyones "right" to go to uni. IMO, its not about restricting access through fees, it should be on performance and achievement of individuals. If you're thick you ain't going!

PS: There's a great bar at the top of the Milbank tower where the crusties were kicking off today. Wonder if they made it up there? Probably would have been nice to kick back after all that.

Comments

• edited 6:16AM