What do you think of scientists?

2»

Comments

• Thats a big challange for the future detritus to keep kids excited about science and maths. As you know some of these subjects are taught very badly in schools and made very dull. Did you know the liquid crystal screen used on apples and androids were designed not far from your hometown in Hull. Stem are a government organisation who take scientists into the classroom. They do fantastic work. I loved all the programmes that you mentioned as well Aa tomorrow's world that Annie mentioned. Lost in space, Sam Becket x files were also very good. I also loved the free folding London bus map which I studied for hours. I learnt the solution to any route via 2 places in London. Oh I do sometimes miss those days of discovery
  • I was working at CalTec and the way science is taught in the states made me so jealous.
  • What does Brian Cox dumb down, exactly? Compared to some of the garbage we were taught in school, which was simplified to the point of being outright untrue, I think he does as good a job as can reasonably be expected at explaining eg quantum physics (if thinking about quantum physics doesn't make you dizzy, you don't understand quantum physics, as Nils Bohr used to say).
  • I think Detritus means that to him it's dumbed down because he understands most of it already. To me it's baffling even though it's presented in an accessible way.
  • Cox is great, I just can't get past the fact he was in D ream, unforgivable!
  • edited March 2014
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Maybe dumming down was the wrong word. Yet any programmes on art history or even world history they come at it from the standpoint of the audience knowing a little bit about the subject they are talking about. But science no they treat everyone like plebs. And quantum physics still makes my head hurt but it is the most beautiful subject its pure unlike most other sciences.