Any fiction writers around?

edited February 2012 in About this site
Hi, all<br><br>I'm reasonably new to SG (coming from Stokey). I'm an author and editor and would love to do some workshops (writing/editing) for beginners and those who have aleady written a novel. I'd love to have a few volunteers who give me feedback on the workshops. <br><br>I would also love to start a writers' group where everything revolves around writing. Not so much into poetry, I'm afrraid, but anything other writing related, I'd be happy to discuss. Perhaps we could meet in a pub regularly or at people's flats, taking changes.<br><br>****UPDATE**** I've handed the group over into the wonderful hands of Vetski and Idoru, please get in touch with them if you're interested. <br><br>Edited to add: of course any non-fiction writers are welcome, too. I'm working on a cook-book which is non-fiction.<br>

Comments

• I proofread and edit (mostly academic work) but would be interested in a local creative writing workshop - I've never been to one, as the thought of other people reading/criticising what I've written does rather terrify me! I've got half a novel and some children's stories, and I like writing silly poems, Pam Ayres-style, though I suspect without the talent... So if you do set something up, please let me know.
  • Hi, vetski<br><br>Yes I will certainly do so. I know a few people on twitter who said they were interested being a guinea pig for the workshops, so I'll look into it. Might do it a bit more central for the workshops, but we can meet anyway and do a one-on-one session, if you like. I mostly work with first-time authors helping them to find their voice, bring the POV in order and help to enhance the storyline, so don't worry, I can be gentle. haha. I'm well known for my machete skills. I think for many it takes a lot to show their writings to others, but without critique, there's no improvement :-)<br>
  • edited January 2012